Coldplay Celebrates 20th Anniversary of Sophomore Album, ‘A Rush of Blood to the Head,’ With Enhanced ‘The Scientist’ Video

Coldplay celebrates the 20th anniversary of their second album, A rush of blood to the headwith the release of a 4k upgrade to their popular music video for their hit song, “The Scientist”.

Friday (August 26) marked exactly twenty years since Coldplay released their second album, A rush of blood to the head. The #1 multiple Grammy Award-winning album has since sold over 17 million copies worldwide.

To mark the anniversary, the band have released an enhanced 4K version of the iconic video directed by Jamie Thraves for “The Scientist”, which has been restored and reclassified from the original 35mm film rushes.

The 4K version is available now on the original YouTube link of “The Scientist”, where the video has already racked up over a billion views.

The entire album, which included the singles “In My Place”, “The Scientist”, “Clocks” and “God Put A Smile Upon Your Face”, was also recently mixed for Dolby Atmos. The Dolby Atmos version is available to listen to now on Apple Music, Amazon and TIDAL.

Coldplay, which is currently on round for his Music Of The Spheres World Tour, continues to make headlines with the newly restored video, as well as recent collaborations with BTS, HER, and more.

Watch the band cover Kate Bush and ABBA HERE and Olivia Newton-John HERE.

Consult the list of tracks for A rush of blood to the head below:

1. Policy
2. Home
3. God put a smile on your face
4. The scientist
5. Clocks
6. Daylight
7. Green eyes
8. Warning sign
9. A Whisper
10. A rush of blood to the head
11. Amsterdam

Photo by James Marcus Haney/Atlantic Records